Introduction

Hi folks!

Pull up a chair, get the kettle on, and make yourself comfortable in this little corner of the Internet.

I’m a part time crutch/part time wheelchair user due to Hypermobility Syndrome, which causes pain, fatigue and joint dislocations.

FB_IMG_1431898549008

Having been very fit and sporty until my early twenties, I had no idea whatsoever of the difficulties faced when your mobility is limited.

Suddenly I was thrust into a world where potholes, cobblestones, steps, pavement camber and dropped kerbs were things which significantly affected, and even stunted, my journeys. When walking my dog I had to contend with muddy paths, locked gates and inaccessible stiles. Transport options became limited – my wheelchair doesn’t fit into all cars, a lot of buses still have stairs in order to enter, and the London Underground… Well, that’s a story for another day!

This blog is my attempt to catalogue and review the experiences I have had when exploring my city, my country and the world as a disabled person.

Leave a Reply

